I’m being me my dear friend

Hey dear readers,

Two of my best friends had their birthday party last Saturday. They’re twins if you’re wondering how they celebrated it at the same time. It was a fun party, but I got into a discussion with one of my friends. As many of you know, I’m selected for a special price. I can’t tell too much right now, but they’ve already decided who the winner is. But we’ll find out in April. So, we’ve to stand on a stage, looking at one thousand people. I’m not scared, not at all. To be honest, I’ve always wanted to be on a stage in front of so many people.

But why I’m telling you guys about this? Well, of course you need to dress nicely and you need to do your make-up. I’m not really a girly girl. I don’t wear make-up and jewellery and I hate dresses and skirts. You need to do your hair and wearing heels. Well I’ve got news for them: I won’t.

I’m sorry, but they already decided who the winner is so why should I wear a dress and wear make-up? I want to wear black jeans with a white blouse, which you would wear to your work. So, it’s elegant, classy and decently. I want to wear blue or black boots and wear a little bit make-up such as eye shadow and lipstick. But I want to do this by myself, because I don’t want to paint my whole face with those stupid products, sorry for those who do, but I hate it.

So my friend and I got into a fight, well not really a fight, a discussion is a better describing. But anyway, she told me that she wanted to go shopping with me, go to the hairdresser and make sure that I look ‘gorgeous’ and ‘fabulous.’ And of course that’s really nice of her, but I don’t want that. That’s not who I am. I like wearing jeans, shirts and sneakers. I even wear beanies and caps. I love to skateboard and go boxing in a gym. I love boys who do the exact same thing, those who do the extreme sports. I like their clothing style and I’m like: why can’t girls wear that? My style is a combination of comfy, cool and sportive.

So I said to her: what’s wrong with that? And she said: well, you’re a girl. So I was like: yeah, so? Can’t girls wear sneakers or beanies? Why do girls have to dress up nicely? Who invented that? Of course I like my long hair but that doesn’t mean that I can’t wear whatever I like. I’m into guys, and I like to dress as a skater, because I fancy those boys even more. Especially those guys with the amazing abs, biceps and triceps. But also the ones who do amazing tricks and stunts. I just love their (clothing) style, so what’s wrong with that?

I know that Mark isn’t an average boy. He’s into games and movies, just like me. We talked a lot about boxing, fighting and other ‘boy’ stuff. We enjoyed our talks and we laughed every single time. I can always express myself a lot better around boys when I’m on my skateboard and wearing my sneakers and beanie. That’s why I love England too. They’re so many people who dress like me, I’ve seen it before.

That style is not only for boys dear ladies and gentlemen. And those who wear that style can still be into boys. So stop saying otherwise, because you don’t even know every person. I love guys, I love wearing beanies and sneakers and yes I skateboard and do a lot of boxing. But I’m still a girl, a girl who’s being herself. And she loves guys who’re not regular, because she’s not regular too.

What’s your opinion about this? Can girls wear beanies and sneakers or do we need to dress as a girl? And why do you think that? Is it important to you or is it normal for you?

Lots of love, ‘Daphne’

12 thoughts on “I’m being me my dear friend

  1. Of course can wear sneakers and beanies, I do too. I’m not one to wear dresses and skirts (only in the summer and they are only long ones) I am the most comfortable in my jeans and a big sweater, and some people are so stupid to tell you to follow the “others”. What’s the thing with that anyway? If everyone was the same the world wouldn’t be so divers and it would be boring.
    People can wear whatever they want and in mt opinion there is nothing like clothes restricted to gender, that’s just stupid. Sadly we live in a judgemental world and people that do what they want get criticism and sometimes even rude comment.
    But anyway, my point is that everyone is free to wear whatever they want, do what they want and be who they wanna be.
    I think that the diversity and different cultures in our world is amazing and no one should feel like they can’t be themselves
    Lots of Love ❤ Lou

    Liked by 1 person

    • I fully agree on everything you said in your reaction! I’m glad you think the same way ❤ And yeah I'm wondering the exact same way, why do people always think that there is a clothing code for girls or boys? Maybe that was the case a few centuries ago, but not in this one. I hate it that they're judging everyone. Leave us alone, let us be who we want to be and just be who you want to be 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I hope so too! When you don’t follow the trend, you’re a no one. Or when you love a specific style, people look at you and think you’re crazy. That’s so annoying. I don’t care what kind of clothing a person has, as long as he or she is happy with it, I won’t tell him or her to change 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • When people tell others to change just because they look differently or dress a different way, I feel like they are making those comments just because they are jealous. Like why would you if you aren’t? But I can be wrong, of course 😅

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you. People should wear what they want to wear. There is no code for what a girl or boy should wear. Maybe there was one in the early centuries or many years before that. But now, you can wear whatever you want 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not wearing skirts and dresses too. I don’t even have a dress or skirt, why should I? I don’t feel myself in those and just love some jeans and sneakers. Why should I wear other shoes, when my sneakers are so comfy?
    You’re beautiful, just the way you are!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

